The Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police

KACP Awards Nominations 2017

Dear Administrator,
I am serving as chairman of the Awards Committee of the Kansas Association of Chief of Police (KACP). In that capacity, I am requesting nominations of Kansas law enforcement officers for the 2017 awards. These awards will honor activities, accomplishments and performance of officers, and/or employees, which occurred during calendar year 2017.

Those selected for these awards will be honored personally at the Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police Awards Banquet at its Spring Conference on Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at the Hyatt Regency in Wichita. There will be a reception beginning at 6:00 pm, and the Dinner and Awards Presentation Program will commence at 7:00 pm.

Enclosed is a nomination form. The form must be used for each nomination and may be copied as needed. Nominations must be received by 5:00 pm on Wednesday, February 28, 2018. A fillable version of this form is also available on the KLETC homepage at

Download Form Here

Serving on the Awards Committee with me are the following:

Chief Mike Baker, Wamego PD
Chief Ronnie Grice, Kansas State University PD
Chief Ed Howell, Ft. Hays State University PD
Retired Chief Ron Jackson (Newton)
Chief Rick Johnson, KU Medical Center PD
Chief Mike Keller, Andover PD
Ret. Col. Terry Maple (Kansas Highway Patrol)
Chief Mark Mathies, Edwardsville PD
Ron Miller, US Marshal, District of Kansas
Chief Nelson Mosley, Rose Hill PD
Chief Brad Nelson, Salina PD
Director Ed Pavey, Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center
Chief Don Scheibler, Hays PD
Chief Danny Thayer, Neodesha PD

These awards are for all Kansas officers, i.e. municipal, county, state, federal, etc. and/or other employees of all law enforcement agencies in Kansas. Feel free to nominate modest administrators of other agencies who might deserve such recognition.

Banquet and award presentation details will be furnished later to all selected award recipients and administrators.

Please submit all nominations by 5:00 pm on Wednesday, February 28, 2018 and please follow exactly the instructions on the nomination form itself. Don’t worry about trying to determine the appropriate award category as our committee will handle that determination.

Thank you.

Todd Ackerman
KACP Awards Committee Chairman

Please submit nominations to: Lisa Webster, Assistant to the Director,
Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center, PO Box 647, Hutchinson, KS 67504-0647.
Ph: (620) 694-1505, Email: lwebster (at), Fax: (620) 694-1425