Legislative Committee Finance Committee Awards Committee Training Committee Program Committee Mentor Committee

Legislative Committee


Legislative Committee: 
Legislative Committee:(Chair) Chief Darrell AtteberryBel Aire
Director Jen DuffyKACP


KACP Legislative Committee Responsibilities

  1. The legislative committee shall work closely with any KACP identified lobbyist to identify and compile all legislative issues of interest to law enforcement.
  2. Members shall establish and maintain contacts within the system of government to further the legislative interests of the Association.
  3. Members shall, when available, provide testimony before the Legislature or committees thereof as appropriate.
  4. The committee Chairman shall communicate and coordinate the Association’s legislative agenda with other law enforcement associations, to include:
    • Kansas Peace Officers’ Association
    • Kansas Sheriffs’ Association
    • Kansas County and District Attorneys’ Association.
  5. The committee chairman shall inform the Board and general membership of the Association’s legislative agenda and seek input for the coming session.
  6. The chairman shall assist in the planning of the annual Legislative conference as appropriate.
  7. The committee chairman shall work closely with any identified KACP lobbyist to coordinate testimony by Association members at hearings of concern to KACP.
  8. The committee chairman shall represent the Association, using independent judgment, in addressing legislative issues where the Board, General Membership or committee cannot be consulted in advance.

Finance Committee


Mark Hinkle (Chair)Colwich
Michael UtzGarden City
Don ScheiblerHays
Bob SageRose Hill


KACP Finance Committee Responsibilities

  1. The Finance Committee shall make recommendations to the Board on programs, projects and major financial proposals.
  2. The committee shall evaluate the current year budget and make recommendations to the Board on the proposed budget for the coming year. Such proposals shall be presented at the Board meeting of the Fall Conference each year.
  3. The committee may assist and evaluate fund raising efforts and recommendations.
  4. The committee shall ensure that an annual audit of the Association’s financial records is conducted by a professional accounting firm.
  5. The committee shall make recommendations to the Board concerning budget modifications during the course of the fiscal year.
  6. The committee shall research and make recommendations to the Board regarding investment of KACP funds.

Awards Committee

KACP 2018-2019 Awards Committee

Todd Ackerman, ChairMarysville PD

KACP Awards Committee Responsibilities

  1. The Awards committee is responsible for defining KACP awards criteria for approval by the Board.
  2. The committee shall annually send out notices to solicit for nominations for the annual awards.
  3. The committee shall review all nominations and determine which award is appropriate for each nomination, if any.
  4. The committee shall notify the agency of each nominee regarding the outcome of the nominations. The committee shall also provide all appropriate and necessary information to the agency of each prospective award recipient regarding the time and location of the Awards program and housing and ticket arrangements.
  5. The committee shall arrange for the acquisition of all awards and certificates as appropriate. The committee shall also provide information to be printed in the Banquet program.
  6. The committee shall be responsible for preparation of the script and overseeing, coordinating and conducting the activities of the annual Awards Program ceremony.
  7. The committee shall be responsible for making arrangements for photographing of the individual award presentations and shall send each award recipient a photo of his or her presentation.

Training Committee


Training Committee 
Chief Fred Farris (Chair)
Goddard PD
Chief Brad Nelson (Mid Size City)
Salina PD
Chief Terry Zeigler (Large City)
Kansas City PD
Chief Emil Halfhill (Small City)
Ellsworth PD
Ron Gould (KLETC Representative)
Chief Ed Howell (Campus Representative)
Ft. Hays State
Chief  Bart Branyon (State Agency Representative)

Please feel free to contact KACP or Jennifer Duffy with any further questions at: 316-733-7300

Program Committee

Chief Gordon Ramsay

Wichita PD

Danny Shanks

Oakley PD

Captain Jimmie Atkinson


Chief Danny Thayer

Neodesha PD

Chief LA

Sedgwick PD

Chief Darrell Atteberry

Bel Aire PD

Chief Dennis Butler

Ottawa PD

Chief Brad Nelson

Salina PD

Captain Chris Kostelac


Chief Adam Sayler

St John PD

Mentor Committee


KACP Mentor Committee



Adam Sayler (Chair)

St John PS


Michael Utz

Garden City PD


Joni Showalter

Goodland Police Dept


Dennis Butler

Ottawa Police Dept


Bruce Burke

Peabody Police Dept


Gary Steed



Darrel Attebury

Bel Aire Police Dept


Mike Keller

Andover Police Dept


Dick Heitschmidt

Hutchinson Police Dept

Chief (Ret)

Jim Daily



Rick Johnson

KU Med Center


Claude Warren

Osborne PD


Terry Hollingsworth

Overbrook PD



Sedgwick PD


Brad Nelson

Salina PD


Ed Howell

Ft. Hays PD


Mike McCracken

Pitt State


Gerry Cullumber

Norton PD


Greg Neis

Baldwin City PD


Jennifer Duffy


The Mentoring Committee oversees the KACP Mentoring Program, which enables KACP members to network in pairs and small groups with fellow members who share their set of professional interests and concerns and can offer mutual guidance and support.

Box 780603, Wichita, KS, 67278
(316) 733-7300
The KACP is comprised of and represents law enforcement leaders from agencies of all sizes from throughout the state. The Association has developed and administers numerous member and community service programs as shown and described within this web site.